02/27/13 Dusty Gets a Drink

|

It was already a til-midnight kind of day due to my totally slacking on my birthday, and then I was suddenly pulled in to move a couch. From Albany. The strip isn’t QUITE done, but should be within an hour or so done! (link to that half-done version).

Aaron Diaz has a Kickstarter running for his wonderful Dresden Codak. He blew his goal out of the water, yay! I’m looking forward to the book! Congratulations, Aaron!

And yet another reminder, I will be attending the Tucson Festival of Books March 9-10 at Tucson’s University of Arizona. I’ll be tabling with an enormously talented group of woman who write Romance Novels. Check out who I’m tabling with!

Amber Scott – http://amberscottbooks.com
Amber Polo – http://amber@amberpolo.com
Belinda Boring – http://www.belindaboring.com/
Brenda Whiteside – http://brendawhiteside.com
Clarissa Ellison – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/shadowman-erin-kellison/1102991105
Deena Remiel – http://deenar116.wordpress.com/
Donna Hatch – http://donnahatch.com/
Erin Quinn (aka Erin Grady) – http://www.erinquinnbooks.com/
Gini Koch – http://www.ginikoch.com/
Kris Tualla – http://www.kristualla.com/
Lacey Weatherford – http://www.laceyweatherfordbooks.com/
Lynn Rush – http://lynnrush.com/
Michelle McKissack – http://www.michellemckissack.com/
Morgan Kearns – http://morgankearns.com/
R. Boschee – http://www.rebeccaboschee.com/books.htm
Sandra Lee Smith – http://sandraleesmith.com/
Sharon Hamilton – http://sharonhamiltonauthor.com/
Tami Vinson – http://www.tamivinson.com/
vijaya schartz – http://www.vijayaschartz.com/
wendy ely – http://www.wendyely.blogspot.com/

16 Comments

  1. Herandar

    I don’t know. I kinda like the all white backgrounds. Gives the strip a real alien feel, you know? Who’s to say there isn’t an all white bar on a planet somewhere as the alien artwork lies entirely outside what humans consider the visible spectrum.

    I do know why you use the detailed background (McCloud!) But I ask you to consider leaving a portion uncolored. Or maybe a future location.

  2. If Dusty were smart (stop laughing and let me finish), he could sell Earth drink recipes to the pilot in exchange for passage and maybe some royalties, and mention how successful the tea cookie franchise has been. Maybe the eebs won’t chase after him and torch Earth. Right away.

  3. Christopher

    @Herandar, Nope! Not that it wouldn’t look good, but I try to be internally consisten within projects. Maybe next project? We’ll see. 😉

    @Coyoty, excellent idea. If he were smart. 🙂

  4. Hilarious.

    And you know, it just occurred to me, but isn’t homicidal technically the wrong word? We need a word that means “desirous of killing everything alive,” not just “humans.” 😉

    I propose: SENTICIDAL. Not quite right either, but closer!

  5. Muzhik

    @Stewart, I have to disagree. “SENTICIDAL” sounds like something that would make your garden unsuitable for organically-grown food, or perhaps something used in a birth-control device.

    Either that, or it’s something they’re putting in the local school lunches as a protein substitute that has the side effect of making our kids more stupid. “But we’re saving so much money on our school lunch programs we can afford to hire additional teachers! (But we won’t.)”

  6. I’m beginning to think the earlier reprogramming was unnecessary for Bar-Bot to go bezerk. However, I am curious as to what gambit the ebbs have planned to culminate with ‘purple velveteen underwear is the best’ or if it was actually Dustin that was programmed.

  7. Muzhik

    @Snow Cat, I think the “Omnicidal Eebs” are about to fall victim to that dreaded enemy of every bad guy: hubris. By giving Dustin the robotic equivalent of “a match in a powder keg”, very soon they’re going to come back from some foray, staggering with laughter and victim’s internal organs, to find Dustin waiting in the ship’s door, robot by his side, frantically trying to light the match (so to speak):

    “Was that secret phrase about “lavender corduroy underwear is the best” or was it about “purple velveteen underwear”?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *